The Cheese Stands Alone

Argyros

accepted: Digital photo 16×24 ©2014 Christie Thomas

This was the only piece accepted at this year’s Ohio State Fair. I am super glad that I got this in, but I was very disappointed that my butterfly print collage didn’t make it. I was joking with a friend that perhaps it wasn’t “dark” enough, and perhaps if the butterflies were bloody the judge might have liked it better. So, after I went through the stages of rejection: disbelief, sadness, confusion, & self doubt, I made it to humor. Then I took it to the frame shop and treated myself to a super kick-ass frame with non reflective glass and everything! Take that fair judge! 😉

"A Mother's Love"

rejected at the fair… 20×30 hand cut linoleum block printed butterflies, chine-colle, watercolor, metallic pigment, watercolor board, rice paper, origami paper, watercolor paper May 2014 ©Christie Thomas

6 thoughts on “The Cheese Stands Alone

  1. Both are beautiful in very different ways! One is dark, traditional with great symmetry and effect (almost foerboding like Van Gough’s crows in a field) I love the little yellow sparks of light in the foreground and the other flamboyant, colorful, imaginative and joyful full of hope and beauty. At least that is what I see 🙂 Your talent is amazing! Thank you so very much for sharing! xoxox

Leave a Reply

